Candidate filing for municipal offices begins

Published 6:06 pm Friday, July 1, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The first day of filing for municipal office saw a steady stream of candidates Friday.

Filing for office in Albemarle were TJ Morgan and Scott Hopkins for council member at-large, Devron Furr and Tanner Denton for district two and David Morgan and incumbent Chris Whitley for district four.

In Badin, Dale Ward and Daniel Quick filed for council member at-large.

For Locust City Council, candidates include incumbents Mandy Watson and Roger Hypes and newcomer Barry Sims.

Tate Daniels filed for re-election as New London mayor.

In Norwood, Latonya Renae Wall White was the lone candidate to file on the first day.

Filing to run for nonpartisan municipal offices in the general election runs until noon July 15.

Candidate filing for soil and water conservation district supervisor concluded on Friday. Candidates include Rebecca Gibson, Curtis Furr and Franklin Lee.