New candidate enters race for office

Published 10:58 am Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Following a flurry of candidates coming forth on the first day of filing Friday, only one has filed since.

Lee Huntley has filed for board of commissioners in Oakboro.

Previously filing were:

Albemarle: TJ Morgan and Scott Hopkins for council member at-large, Devron Furr and Tanner Denton for district two and David Morgan and incumbent Chris Whitley for district four.

Badin: Dale Ward and Daniel Quick for council member at-large.

Locust: incumbents Mandy Watson and Roger Hypes and newcomer Barry Sims for council member.

New London: incumbent Tate Daniels for mayor.

Norwood: Latonya Renae Wall White for council member.

Filing to run for nonpartisan municipal offices in the general election runs until noon July 15.