ELECTION 2022: When and where to vote early in Stanly County, plus a list of the local candidates

Published 9:45 am Thursday, October 20, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Hundreds of voters across Stanly County came out to vote on Thursday for the first day off in-person early voting in the 2022 midterm elections, when numerous national, statewide and local races are on the ballot.

The early voting locations in Stanly County are: Stanly County Commons-DSS Auditorium, located at 1000 N. 1st St., Albemarle and Locust Town Center-Joel Huneycutt Room, located 186 Ray Kennedy Dr., Locust.

A total of 962 people cast ballots on Thursday, including 827 who voted in-person. Stanly County Commons had 560 people vote while Locust Town Center had 267. In contrast, during the first day of in-person early voting during the 2018 midterms, 674 people cast ballots, according to data from Stanly County Board of Elections Director Kimberly Blackwelder.

Hours for early voting are 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, and from 8 a.m. and 3 p.m. on Saturday Nov. 5. Early voting runs until 3 p.m. Nov. 5.

Election Day is less than a month away on Nov. 8. People who vote in-person during early voting can register and vote on the same day. Ten people completed same-day registration on Thursday, Blackwelder said.

A Stanly County resident who is qualified to vote may register and vote at any voting site during the Early Voting period. The new registrant though can only vote at a voting site during the early voting period and not on Election Day, according to the Stanly County Board of Elections. 

Residents who want to receive an absentee by mail ballot have until Nov. 1 to request one using the NC Absentee Request form, which is available at the Board of Elections office. Only the voter, voter’s near relative or verifiable legal guardian may complete the request.

An absentee ballot must be returned in-person to the Board of Elections no later than 5 p.m. on Election Day. An absentee ballot must be postmarked by Election Day and received by 5 p.m. on the third day after the election.

Below are the candidates for each local election.

Stanly County Board of Commissioners

-At-Large: Patty Crump

-District 1: Mike Barbee (incumbent)

-District 2: Bill Lawhon (incumbent)

-District 3: Brandon King

-District 4: Trent Hatley

Stanly County Board of Education

-At-Large: Robin Whittaker

-District 1: Dustin Lisk (incumbent)

Stanly County Clerk of Superior Court

Ginger Efird and Todd Lowder

Stanly County Sheriff

Jeff Crisco (incumbent) and Davara Ponds

Stanly Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

Curtis Furr, Rebecca Gibson and Franklin Lee

Albemarle City Council

-At-Large: Chris Bramlett, Scott Hopkins and Tim Morgan

-District 2: Tanner Denton, Devron Furr and David Hunt

-District 4: Chris Whitley (incumbent) and David Morgan

Badin Town Council

-At-Large: Anne Harwood, Selena Hinson and Dale Ward

-East District: Charles Council

-West District: Deloris Chambers (incumbent), Daniel Quick and Detrica Watkins

City of Locust 

-Mayor: Steve Huber (incumbent)

-Council: Roger Hypes (incumbent), Barry Sims and Mandy Watson (incumbent)

Village of Misenheimer Council

Micah Edquist (incumbent), Peter Edquist (incumbent) and Michael Herron (incumbent)

Town of New London

-Mayor: Johnny Chestnut and Tate Daniels (incumbent)

-Board of Commissioners: Tim Higgins, Sidney Lanier, Marcus Mullis (incumbent), Bill Rogers and Christy Starnes (incumbent)

Norwood Town Council

Wes Hartsell (incumbent), Keith Morgan (incumbent) and Latonya Renae Wall White

Town of Oakboro

-Mayor: Lisa Cratty, Chris Huneycutt and Robert Watkins

-Board of Commissioners: Brent Barbee, Joey Carpenter, Lee Huntley, Latoya Jackson, Charles Osborne, Bud Smith (incumbent) and Fred Smith

Red Cross Town Council

Lisa Lowder, Brenda Reeder and Andrew Smith

Town of Richfield

-Mayor: Ian Focht

-Board of Commissioners: Kevin Almond (incumbent), Cynthia Heglar (incumbent) and David Harding

Town of Stanfield

-Mayor: James Kluttz

-Board of Commissioners: Brent Holbrooks (incumbent) and Gregory Bratton (incumbent)

About Chris Miller

Chris Miller has been with the SNAP since January 2019. He is a graduate of NC State and received his Master's in Journalism from the University of Maryland. He previously wrote for the Capital News Service in Annapolis, where many of his stories on immigration and culture were published in national papers via the AP wire.

email author More by Chris