Richfield swears in new planning board

Published 6:28 pm Tuesday, May 23, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Richfield now has a new planning board which will advise the town’s commission on zoning matters.

Six of the new board members were sworn in at Monday’s regular meeting of the commissioners: David Isenhour, Selina Blalock, Norma Tripp, Tanya Smith, Tyler Gordon and Jeff Balfrey.

A seventh member, Deanette Russell, could not attend the meeting but is scheduled to be sworn in later this week, according to Town Administrator Carolyn Capps.

The Richfield Planning Board has five full members (Blalock, Isenhour, Gordon, Smith and Tripp) and two alternates (Balfrey and Russell). Of the seven nominees approved, four live inside the town limits (Blalock, Isenhour, Russell and Tripp) while the other three live in the town’s extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ).

Ginger Efird, Stanly County’s Clerk of Court, swore in the new board at Monday’s meeting.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles