FSA announces county committee election results

Published 4:34 pm Saturday, December 23, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Stanly County Farm Service Agency office has announced that the County Committee election is complete and the ballots have been counted.

Jeremy McSwain was elected to represent local administrative area (LAA) 3.

Alternates are Angela McSwain first alternate, Trent Furr second alternate and Jason Hazlett third alternate.

County committee members are a component of the day-to-day operations of FSA. They help deliver programs at the county level and work to serve the needs of local producers. The recently elected county committee member will take office in January and will join the existing committee.

Every FSA office is required to have a county committee, made up of local farmers, ranchers and foresters elected by local producers. County committee members impact the administration of FSA within a community by applying their knowledge and judgment to help FSA make decisions on commodity support programs, conservation programs, indemnity and disaster programs, emergency programs and eligibility.

County committee members serve local producers through their decision making and help shape the culture of a local FSA office. They also ensure the administration of FSA farm programs in their counties and are accountable to the Secretary of Agriculture.

Members conduct hearings and reviews as requested by the state committee, ensure underserved farmers, ranchers and foresters are fairly represented, make recommendations to the state committee on existing programs, monitor changes in farm programs and inform farmers of the purpose and provisions of FSA programs. They also assist with outreach and inform underserved producers, such as beginning farmers, ranchers and foresters, about FSA opportunities.