Stanly commissioners approve fire tax increases requested by three county VFDs

Published 2:54 pm Monday, June 17, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Stanly County commissioners agreed at Thursday’s budget workshop to increase the fire taxes for three volunteer fire departments who requested increases.

The volunteer fire departments of Endy, Misenheimer/Richfield and Oakboro all requested increases. Endy requested a five-cent increase from $0.10 to $0.15, Richfield/Misenheimer asked for four cents ($.07 to $0.11) and Oakboro requested two cents ($.08 to $.10). Oakboro got a two-cent increase in last year’s budget after requesting four cents from six to eight cents.

Commissioners passed a one-cent increase for Oakboro to nine cents unanimously, which would mean an additional $63,500 for the department.

Endy received a two-cent increase unanimously to $.12, giving the department $52,400 in increased income.

For Richfield/Misenheimer, commissioners unanimously agreed on three cents to $.10, which means an additional $75,000 for the department.

County Manager Andy Lucas said he received a letter from Richfield/Misenheimer saying it intends to replace a 2001 model engine and renovate the building.

Commissioner Brandon King said Richfield/Misenheimer has “a very strong board that does not waste money.”

Lucas said Oakboro planned to expand its station, expand staff for additional 24-hour coverage and purchase two new fire apparatus. In a letter to Lucas, Oakboro VFD said the increase was “due to residential and commercial structural growth in our area as well as a lack of available county water supply.”

Lucas said Endy asked for its increase for critical equipment replacement, including its rescue apparatus, tanks and radios.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles