Huneycutt earns NFCA Mideast All-Region honors

Western Carolina fifth-year senior Bailey Huneycutt was named to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Mideast All-Region third-team at third base. The honor is the second of Huneycutt’s career as she earned third-team honors in 2021 at shortstop. Additionally, Huneycutt is the first player in program history to earn multiple NFCA All-Region honors.

Huneycutt, a first-team All-Southern Conference selection, was one of two All-Mideast Region players from the Southern Conference, joining UNCG’s Jorde Chartrand who was a second-team selection as a utility player.

A product of Oakboro, Huneycutt started all 47 of WCU’s games, making the transition from shortstop to third base midseason. She led the team with 13 doubles while finishing tied for the team lead with nine home runs. She batted .373 – second in the SoCon – with 53 hits, 25 runs scored and 38 RBI in addition to her doubles and home runs. Huneycutt also led the Catamounts with a .669 slugging percentage and a .444 on-base percentage. Her batting average of .373 was the third-best single-season mark in program history. She finished 2-for-3 in stolen base attempts.

In her final at-bat during the SoCon Tournament, Huneycutt set both the program career record for doubles and total base hits with her 38th career double and 196th career hit with an RBI double in the sixth inning against ETSU.

Huneycutt concludes her career as the program leader in runs scored (123), hits (196), doubles (38), home runs (46), RBI (142), total bases (376), walks (102) and double plays turned (45). She is the single-season program record holder in on base percentage (.497 – 2021), double plays turned (18 – 2019) and tied for first in intentional walks (2 – 2021).

The Mideast Region consists of schools in the American Athletic Conference (East Carolina, South Florida, UCF), Big East (Georgetown, Seton Hall, UCONN, Villanova), Conference USA (Louisiana Tech, Middle Tennessee, Charlotte, UAB, Western Kentucky), Mid-American Conference (Akron, Bowling Green, Buffalo, Kent State, Miami (Ohio), Ohio), Missouri Valley Conference (Bradley, Evansville, Illinois State, Indiana State, Murray State, Southern Illinois), Ohio Valley Conference (Eastern Illinois, Lindenwood, Morehead State, Southeast Missouri State, SIU Edwardsville), and Southern Conference (ETSU, UNCG, Western Carolina).