West Stanly wins county wrestling title, Bullpen Duals

Published 12:39 am Tuesday, January 8, 2019

On Saturday, the West Stanly wrestling team won the county championship meet and went 5-0 at the Bullpen Duals hosted by South Stanly.

The Colts opened the event at 9 a.m. with a 46-24 win over South Stanly, then posted wins over Parkwood (60-24), North Stanly (54-30), Albemarle (66-18) and Union Academy (62-9) to win both the county title and the overall team title at the tournament.

South earned wins over Parkwood (54-27) and Union Academy (55-18) along with team wins over North Stanly (54-22) and Albemarle (63-12), finishing 4-1.

Eight West Stanly wrestlers were undefeated on the day, earning All-County status as well as winning their respective classes in the overall duals. Grant Honeycutt posted three forfeit wins including a pin of Parkwood’s Diederick Baden and an 11-0 majority decision over South’s Chris Ramirez.

West’s Aiden Hiott had pinfall wins at 120 pounds over South’s Jaquavius Caraway and Parkwood’s Steven Bigham, along with three forfeit wins.

At 132, Korbin McNeill posted a pinfall win over North’s Harlon Hatley and technical falls of 16-0 and 17-1 versus South’s Hunter Barrier and Union Academy’s Issac Williams, respectively. He also had two forfeit wins.

Jared Watson posted three pinfall wins versus Albemarle’s Jylukus Hyatt, South’s Caleb Lefler and Union’s Josh Pyrock, along with two forfeits at 152 pounds.

Andrew Becker wrestled at 160 pounds for West and had one pinfall, besting Parkwood’s Isaac Edwards. He also won a 15-2 majority decision versus Lavonte Richardson of South Stanly and a 7-3 decision against Union Academy wrestler Christopher Morgan.

Brandon Becker, competing at 170, had three forfeit wins along with a pinfall over North’s Wes Layton and a 5-4 decision versus South’s Rodney Hammond.

Sam Veazey had pins over North’s Meliek Bryant and Union’s Noah Ashfield, along with three forfeit wins in the 182-pound division.

In the heavyweight division, Jessie Furr earned Most Outstanding Wrestler honors while also going undefeated. Furr had pinfall victories over Albemarle’s Unique Carvalho and Parkwood’s Matthew Isom. He also beat Cade Whitley of South Stanly in a 3-1 overtime decision.

South had three wrestlers earn All-County status, including Trenten Drake (138), Damie Griffin (145) and Khris Mayo (220).

Drake earned pins over Albemarle’s Owen Austin and Grayson Pope, a 20-8 majority decision versus North’s Elijah McCowan, an 11-1 majority decision against Union’s Ryan Mitteer and a forfeit win.

Griffin won by pin over the Bulldogs’ Hyatt, Parkwood’s Isaac Edwards, Union’s Josiah Hemphill and West’s Dakota Alexander, along with a forfeit win.

Mayo pinned Albemarle’s Naqian Carpenter and North’s Andrew Page, and earned two forfeit wins.

Other top performances included Albemarle’s Adrian Little, who was named All-County and the Most Vaulable Wrestler for the county match at 195 pounds. Little pinned West’s Braxton Lipke while earning forfeit wins versus South, Parkwood and Union Academy.

North Stanly had one representative on the All-County squad at 113 pounds in Ricardo Bustos. He pinned South’s Connor Curlee and had a forfeit win over West.

The All-Stanly team did not have a clear winner at 126 pounds as none of the wrestlers posted a 3-0 mark in county matchups.

2019 All-Stanly Wrestling Team

106: Grant Honeycutt-West Stanly
113: Ricardo Bustos-North Stanly
120: Aidan Hiott-West Stanly
126: No winner
132: Korbin McNeill-West Stanly
138: Trenten Drake-South Stanly
145: Damie Griffin-South Stanly
152: Jared Watson-West Stanly
160: Andrew Becker-West Stanly
170: Brandon Becker-West Stanly
182: Samuel Veazey-West Stanly
195: Adrien Little-Albemarle
220: Khris Mayo-South Stanly
HWT: Jessie Furr-West Stanly

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles