West Stanly track sweeps RRC crowns

Published 6:07 pm Wednesday, May 8, 2019

The West Stanly track teams made a clean sweep last Thursday at the 2019 Rocky River Conference track championships at Forest Hills.

Winning both titles in the same year was a first for the Colts track program. It was also the first women’s title for West Stanly since 1998.

Women’s Results

Onii Bivens earned Most Valuable Runner honors for the Colts earning first place in the 100, 200 and 400 meter events. Her times in the 200 (26.39 seconds) and 400 (1:00.19) broke her own school records the freshman had set previously this season.

Pierson McManus had strong performances for the Colts as well. The senior won the 1,600 meter run in 5:41.93 and the 3,200-meter event in 12:59.17.

McManus also was on the Colts’ 4×800 meter relay team which won first place along with Maddie Miller, Rachel Efird and Natalie Almond. The quartet finished in 10:47.47 beating Central Academy by 33 seconds.

The Colts had 154.5 team points beating Anson by 12.5 points.

Men’s Results

Sam Hinson posted personal records in winning both the 110-meter (16.55 seconds) and the 300-meter hurdles (42.91 seconds).

West’s 4×800 meter relay team of Korbin McNeill, Noah Almond, Leo Martinez and Arturo Zelaya took first with a 8:42.33 winning by 2.7 seconds.

Martinez also won the 800-meter run in 2:03.13.

Jordan Poole also took first for West in the 100-meter dash finishing in 11.33 winning by 0.3 seconds over Forest Hills’ Keeshawn Tyson.

Poole also won the high jump with a height of 5-feet, 10-inches.

Freshman Gavin Hudson won the discus with a distance of 128’10” and Dalton Hatley also took first for the Colts in the shot put (43’ 5.5”).

West posted 176 team points topping Central Academy by 59 points for the title.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles