Athletes named to YVC All-Conference teams for 2019-20 winter season

Published 2:26 pm Thursday, March 5, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Yadkin Valley Conference officially released this week its selctions for All-Conference for the 2019-20 winter sports season. Below are the selections representing Stanly County schools.

Women’s Basketball

Albemarle – Shada Wall, Krystin McLendon.

Gray Stone – Seccora Medley, Danika Ray, Jenna Robinson, Danielle Werts.

North Stanly – Lexi Goode.

Honorable Mention – Kadajah Little (Albemarle), Niriah Medley (Gray Stone), Payton Landis (North Stanly), D’Nysia Wall (South Stanly).

Player of the Year – Danielle Werts, Gray Stone.

Coach of the Year – Robert Stack, Gray Stone.

Men’s Basketball

Albemarle – Marc Raye Jr.

Gray Stone – David Almond.

North Stanly – Dyson Bell, Koby Poole.

South Stanly – Jaquez Cooke, Justin Gaddy.

Honorable Mention – Ali Currie (Albemarle), Shawn An (Gray Stone), Clay Hatley (North Stanly), Addison Tarlton (South Stanly).

Player of the Year – Jaquez Cooke, South Stanly.

Coach of the Year – Sean Whitley, South Stanly.

Women’s Swimming

Gray Stone – Kinsey Cook, Ainslee Lowry, Katherine Jolly, Riley Gleason, Payton Lorch, Isabella McGee.

North Stanly – Alex Childress, Rachel Gibson, Maci Holshouser, Colbie Lentz.

Player of the Year – Rachel Gibson, North Stanly.

Coach of the Year – Jennifer Gibson, North Stanly.

Men’s Swimming

Gray Stone – Jordan Engen, Tristan Montemayor, Cory Nunes, Jobey Swaringen, Kai Laster, Christopher Kafitz, Cole Stinnett.

North Stanly – Alex Huneycutt.

Player of the Year – Cory Nunes, Gray Stone.

Coach of the Year – Greg Yanz, Gray Stone.


Albemarle – Ricard Bustos, Monta Hall, Adrian Little, Unique Carvalho.

South Stanly – Renfere Garcia, Michael Gabbard, Hunter Barrier.

Player of the Year – Adrian Little, Albemarle.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles