• 72°

North Stanly, Albemarle men’s basketball teams go into overtime

The all-time basketball series between the men’s teams of Albemarle and North Stanly has many classic matchups including close results and overtime. Last season, Albemarle and North went to overtime and the Comets prevailed by two.

Thursday night saw the two teams again need overtime to settle matters with the Comets getting the victory by one point at Albemarle, 72-71.

Dyson Bell led the Comets with 22 points, all coming in the second half and overtime adding 12 rebounds and five blocks. Stefan Harris added 13 while center Doug Smith added nine points and team highs in both rebounds (15) and blocks with six.

Harris hit a free throw with under 10 seconds left to pull the Comets (4-2, 4-0 YVC) within two, 71-69 but he missed his second free throw. Smith got the offensive rebound and drew a foul, hitting his first free throw. Smith missed the second and Harris got the rebound. His shot missed, but North again got the ball back and called timeout.

On the next play, Bell got the ball underneath the basket and scored with 2.2 seconds left, forcing an Albemarle timeout. The Bulldogs tried to inbound the ball under the team’s own basket, but the pass was deflected and time ran out.

M.J. Raye, who led Albemarle (1-2, 0-2) and all scorers with 26 points, hit the second of two free throws, putting the Bulldogs up 71-68 seconds before Harris’ foul shot. Raye also sent the game to overtime with a buzzer-beating three-pointer.

North head coach George Walker said when Albemarle and North Stanly play, ‘“you can throw out the records. It’s a rivalry similar to Carolina and Duke.”

Regarding the win, Walker said, “it was a great win and (I’m) proud of my guys for how they battled all night with injuries and foul trouble.”

North Stanly puts the team’s undefeated conference record on the line tonight at North Moore while Albemarle travels to North Rowan.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio was the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press from 1999-2001 and has currently served in the same capacity since 2008. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also been honored twice by the North Carolina Press Association.

email author More by Charles