Pfeiffer men’s lacrosse wins at Ferrum

Published 12:56 pm Monday, March 8, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Pfeiffer University men’s lacrosse team doubled-up Ferrum College 18-6 in a nonconference road game on Sunday afternoon at W.B. Adams Stadium

Pfeiffer (2-1) jumped on the Panthers first with a man-up goal at th 13:13 mark by John Allen (Lebanon, Ohio). Ferrum then evened the score at 1-1 with a goal at 9:16. Over the next few minutes, the teams traded goals, with the score at 2-2.

Pfeiffer then went on a three-goal run, grabbing the 5-2 lead after a pair of goals from Quinn Becraft (Huntesville, N.C.) and a single score from Jacob Leone (Raleigh, N.C.). Senior Jared Nelson (Vestal, N.Y.) assisted on the second Becraft goal as well as the Leone goal.

Leading 5-3 going into the second quarter, Ferrum (1-2) drew to within 5-4 with a score at 12:49, but Becraft scored once again on an assist from Nelson, making it 6-4 at the 12:30 mark.

Brevard would score 3:55 before halftime to provide the 6-5 score at the break.

In the third quarter, Pfeiffer scored five straight, including three more from Becraft. Luke Cox (Winston-Salem, N.C.) and Allen also scored man-up goals in that span to push ahead 11-5. A Brevard goal closed the third quarter scoring at 1:12, making it 11-6

Becraft again scored to start the fourth quarter, this time on an assist from Leone. The teams then alternated the next four goals, making it 14-8. Pfeiffer then closed the game with goals at 4:08 by Leone and at 1:49 by Cox, providing the 16-8 final.

Falcon goalkeeper Matt Stocks (Endwell, N.Y.) provided 18 saves on the afternoon while earning the win.

The Falcons will line it up next on Friday, March 12 with a 3:00 p.m. road game at Greensboro College.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles