Stanly commissioners name new chairman, vice chairman in organizational meeting

Published 12:02 pm Tuesday, December 7, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Before the regular December meeting of the Stanly County Board of the Commissioners, the board conducted an organizational meeting to name a new chairman and vice chairman.

Commissioner Tommy Jordan was unanimously approved by the board as its new chairman. He was nominated by Commissioner Zach Almond.

Almond was named the new vice chairman of the board by a unanimous vote after being nominated by Commissioner Bill Lawhon.

The board also renewed the public official bonds for Tax Administrator Clinton Swaringen ($100,000), Finance Officer Toby Hinson ($150,000), Registrar of Deeds Suzanne Lowder ($50,000) and Sheriff Jeff Crisco ($5,000).

Commissioners also renewed which board members would serve on various local boards. Commissioners Mike Barbee and Bill Lawhon will serve on the Economic Development Board, while Almond will serve on the public library board and the Senior Services Board. Barbee will also be the alternate on the Stanly Water and Sewer Authority.

Commissioner Scott Efird will serve on the county’s airport board, with Jordan as the alternate. Jordan and Scott are also both serve on the Consolidated Human Service Agency board.

Commissioner Lane Furr will serve on the fire district commission and the Stanly Water and Sewer Authority, while Commissioner Peter Asciutto will be on the Rural Planning Organization board with Lawhon as the alternate. Asciutto will also serve on the Council of Governments.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles