South Stanly sweeps regular-season, tournament golf titles

Published 9:12 am Wednesday, April 12, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Piney Point Golf Club in Norwood hosted the 2023 Yadkin Valley Conference men’s golf match recently.

A total of 28 players from the YVC qualified to play in the 18-hole match, with a 50 or less average during the season to play in the finals.

South Stanly earned the conference title with a team score of 312, with Gray Stone a close second with 320. Union Academy was third (342) followed by North Stanly (36), Mount Pleasant (363) and Jay M. Robinson (388).

The individual medalist at the match was Gray Stone’s Wyatt Reeder, who finished with a 72.

Top eight finishes in the match earned All-Conference honors, including South’s Dustin Hurley (76) and Luke Dennis (76). Jacob Trainor of Gray Stone was fourth with a 78, followed by South Stanly’s Luke Webb (79). Webb tied for fifth with Mount’s Marco Pennisan, while Davis Wright of South Stanly was seventh overall with an 80. Reid Smith, also of South, shot 81 and finished eight.

Honorable mention included Colin Phillips (GS), Gavin Shoe (MP), K.J. Cooper (NS), Dillon Nance (SS), Jack Trificanti (UA) and Nathan Lilly (JMR).

The Bulls qualified for the 1A Midwest Regionals on May 9 in Thomasville, while Mount qualified for the 2A Midwest Regionals May 8 in Pilot Mountain.

Four players qualified as individuals for each of the two regionals. For the 1A, qualifiers were Reeder, Trainor and Colin Phillips from Gray Stone and Steele from Union Academy.

In the 2A, North’s Cooper, Carson Morris and Williams Huneycutt qualified, along with Robinson’s Nathan Lilly.

South finished the regular season standings with a 5-0 mark, followed by Gray Stone (4-1), Union Academy (3-2), Mount Pleasant (2-3), North Stanly (1-4) and Robinson (0-5).

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles