West Stanly baseball crushes Parkwood for RRC tournament title

Published 7:51 pm Sunday, May 7, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The West Stanly baseball team issued a loud statement Friday night in the finals of the Rocky River Conference tournament.

With a 21-0 destruction of Parkwood in the tournament title game, the Colts (22-3) swept the conference tournament crown after claiming the regular-season title last week.

The Colts posted four runs in both the first and second innings, then crossed home plate 10 times in the third. West had eight hits in the game and took advantage of five Parkwood errors.

Carson Morton, the RRC’s Pitcher of the Year, and Cruz Carelock drove in three runs each, with Jesse Boone and Jeffery Forrest each adding two RBIs. West also had home runs from Carelock and a two-run shot from Jett Thomas.

On the mound, Jordon Hart and Thomas combined for a five-inning shutout. Hart earned the win, scattering four hits, while Thomas struck out three in two scoreless innings of relief.

West had eight players named to the All-RRC team: Boone, Hart, Morton, Thomas, Brendan Fulcher, Connor Lindsey and Camden Wimbish. Lindsey was named the RRC Player of the Year, while Forrest Jeffery and Eli Tucker were named RRC honorable mention.

“Everyone is excited for the postseason,” West head coach Chad Yow said. “We only have one more game guaranteed, so we are going to prepare, play hard and enjoy it. We have a fun group of guys to be around each day and our hope is we can spend a few more weeks with them on the ball field.”

The Colts are ranked fifth in the 2A Western Region rankings and are scheduled to host a first-round playoff game Tuesday night.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles