Elections Board swears in members, seeks precinct officials

Published 2:34 pm Thursday, July 20, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Members of the Stanly County Board of Elections were sworn in Tuesday for the 2023-2025 term.

Members are Sherrill Smith, Frank Sparger, Joanne Hesley, Bill Rigsbee and Ron Burris.

The members selected Hesley to be secretary. Burris is chairman.

The board will meet at 4 p.m. Aug. 22 to appoint precinct officials for the 2024 elections.

“This board is very dedicated to being nonpartisan and asks the same of all the officials who work with us to carry out fair and honest elections,” said Kimberly Blackwelder, director of the Stanly County Board of Elections.

Blackwelder said there is a great need for elections officials as several who have worked for many years are retiring for various reasons.

Individuals can apply at https://www.votestanlycountync.gov/get-involved.

All precinct officials will be required to:

• attend two-hour training sessions (two or three sessions may be required);

• have their own transportation to and from the polling place on Election Day;

• work from 6 a.m. until at least 8 p.m.;

• lift 30 pounds; and

• assist with setting up the precinct the night before.