Stanly commissioners table appointments for health board

Published 9:18 am Wednesday, October 18, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Stanly County Board of Commissioners voted 6-1 Monday to table a recommendation from the county’s health department director regarding reappointments to the county’s Consolidated Human Services (CHS) board.

Commissioner Peter Asciutto was the only commissioner to vote against the motion tabling the appointments, which was made by Commissioner Patty Crump and seconded by Commissioner Trent Hatley.

Crump said via telephone Tuesday that during the work session Monday prior to the meeting, County Manager Andy Lucas gave a presentation about the health board. She said a couple of commissioners wanted to know how the CHS board used to be set up and how it is now set up.

She said she suggested since eight appointments needed to be made to the CHS board, she wanted to give commissioners “a little more time to study the applicants that are coming in.”

Crump said she “would feel a little more comfortable to have a couple of more weeks” to review the applications.

Health Director David Jenkins said six board members’ terms expire Nov. 6. Two members have also resigned.

Social work member Beth Thomas and general public members Shirley Poplin, Georgette Edgerton, Kristi Small and Larry Gibson were recommended for reappointment by Jenkins. He also requested one vacant spot be filled by Jann Lowder, and a replacement of a consumer member spot, which was filled by Kenneth Chambers. He also noted the board needed a replacement for the veterinary member of the board, which had been filled by Dr. Amy Jordan.

Vice Chairman Mike Barbee asked if any of the people being reappointed had served two terms. Jenkins said they had not.

Asciutto made a motion to approve the five names listed by Jenkins, but the motion did not receive a second.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles