Stanly commissioners name chair, vice chair, decide on committee reps

Published 4:35 pm Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Stanly County Board of Commissioners had an organizational meeting Monday night to decide who would be the chair and vice chair for the next year.

Commissioner Trent Hatley nominated Bill Lawhon for chair, while Commissioner Brandon King nominated Mike Barbee. Four commissioners voted for the motion for Lawhon as chair: Peter Asciutto, Scott Efird, Hatley and Lawhon. King, Patty Crump and Mike Barbee voted against the motion.

For vice chair, King nominated Barbee, and Asciutto nominated Efird. Six commissioners voted for the motion for Barbee, with Asciutto voting against the motion, meaning Barbee would continue as vice chair.

The board also voted to determine which commissioners would serve on various committees throughout the county and beyond.

Asciutto and Efird will serve on the Economic Development Commission, while Crump and King will be on the Consolidated Human Services board. King will also be on the Library Board of Trustees and be the chair of the Fire District Commission.

Hatley will serve on the Airport Authority Board with Lawhon, and will be the alternate for Vice Chair Barbee on the Stanly Water and Sewer Authority.

Efird will serve on the Mental Health Board and be an alternate for Asciutto on the Rural Planning Organization.

Barbee will serve as a member of the Senior Services Board.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles