Stanly school board selects new chair, vice chair

Published 3:08 pm Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

At Tuesday’s meeting of the Stanly County Board of Education, the board chose a new chair and vice chair for the 2024 year.

Board member Glenda Gibson nominated Carla Poplin, while Dustin Lisk was nominated by Rufus Lefler.

Poplin was named the new chair by a vote of 4-3. Poplin voted for herself along with board members Gibson, Bill Sorensen and Vicky Watson. Lisk voted for himself along with Lefler and Robin Whitaker.

For vice chair, Lisk nominated Whitaker, and Watson nominated Sorensen.

Sorensen won by a 4-3 vote. Sorensen voted for himself along with Gibson, Poplin and Watson, while Whitaker voted for herself along with Lefler and Lisk.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles