Albemarle women claim second straight conference regular-season title

Published 5:11 pm Monday, February 19, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

With the Yadkin Valley Conference tournament opening this week, the Albemarle women’s basketball team looks to continue the successful season the Bulldogs have had so far.

For the second straight season, Albemarle has claimed the regular-season title. This year, the Bulldogs (20-3) were undefeated in conference play and will receive a bye in the first round of the conference tournament this week.

Junior point guard Amari Baldwin leads Albemarle in points, (25.0), steals (6.5) and assists per game (4.7). She is third all-time scoring for the women’s basketball program heading into the conference tournament with 1,515 points.

Another junior, Bianca Robinson, finished the regular season second in points per game (14.0) and leads the Bulldogs with 8.3 rebounds per game.

The differences in the past two seasons, according to head coach Eric Davis, was the players “went through a challenging summer workout program. This year, we have been mindful of keeping them challenged along with keeping them developing.”

Davis said the team’s chemistry “has been great and everybody has done a great job of doing their jobs, offensively and defensively, but the development of our players has been huge. We just stay focused on the details and getting better every day.”

Albemarle has a bye in this week’s conference tournament and will play either Mount Pleasant or Gray Stone Thursday night at Mount.

Ranked fifth in the 1A Western Region by MaxPreps, the Bulldogs will be at home for the first round in next week’s state playoffs.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles