Two former county softball standouts honored by Appalachian Athletic Conference

The Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) released the 2020 Softball All-Academic and Champions of Character teams recently.

Among the names was former South Stanly standout Taryn Tucker, named as a Champion of Character. Tucker is a dean’s list selection after her freshman year at St. Andrews.

Her teammate, former West Stanly standout pitcher and St. Andrews senior Brennan Broadaway, was named to the All-Academic Team.

A total of 116 student-athletes made the grade to land on All-Academic Team. Union led the way with 15 honorees.

To make the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must carry a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.25 and be a sophomore, junior, senior or graduate student.

Also making the Champions of Character Team were Allison Davidson of Milligan, Macey Dunaway of Truett McConnell, Tanaya Ellis of Columbia International, Madison Faulkner of Montreat, Emily Harrison of Union, Megan Huss of Reinhardt, Claudia Hutchins of Tennessee Wesleyan, MaKenzie McKern of Bluefield, Caroline Mitchell of Brenau, Morgan Runyans of Point and Heidi Smith of Bryan.

To make the Champions of Character Team, student-athletes are nominated by their coaches based on their modeling of the five core values the NAIA espouses: respect, integrity, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership.

To view the entire list of honorees, click here.