Commissioners approve rezoning request to relocate Albemarle Outdoor Equipment

The Stanly County Commissioners approved a request to rezone 10.8 acres along N.C. Highway 24-27 from Residential Agricultural to General Business, which would allow Brandon King to relocate his business, Albemarle Outdoor Equipment.

“We’re just looking for a place to relocate that we can expand more,” said King, whose business is currently located on U.S. Highway 52 and has limited parking.

He said the company, which sells lawn maintenance equipment, is looking to add an agriculture tractor line and plans to construct a commercial building on the east side of the parcel for his business.

King has also met with NCDOT about installing a driveway on the property which has been approved.

The property is in a growth area per the 2010 Stanly County Land-Use Plan, with approximately 15,000 vehicles passing this section of N.C. 24-27 each day according to 2018 data from the NCDOT.

The property to be rezoned is owned by the Beulah Mae Burleson heirs and is listed for sale.

Kelly Schmidt, who lives next to the parcel of land, opposed the request. She wants to live in a rural residential neighborhood not next to a commercial property.

“I oppose this because I don’t want to live beside a business,” she said, adding that the proposed driveway would increase traffic around her property.

The commissioners unanimously approved the rezoning request.

In other economic news, the commissioners approved an eight-year property tax incentive grant for the expansion of an existing manufacturing company in New London. The grant amount will be 75 percent of taxes on the new investment and will lead to an investment of at least $20 million.

In other news, the commissioners:

–Nominated and appointed Matthew Swain as chairman for the upcoming year and nominated and appointed Ashley Morgan as vice chairman.

–Appointed Joshua Morton Jr. and Curtis Furr to three-year terms on the Stanly County Water and Sewer Authority Board and appointed William Rigsbee Jr. and Billy Franklin (Frank) Lee to two-year terms on the same board.